Cut and Paste, Start Again

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's been a long day

Walking back to the office from lunch I saw a man sitting at the curb on broadway and 32nd with a sign that read: I'm homeless and I'm all alone, please help.
He wasn't even begging, just sitting, staring at the ground, holding his sign, next to a garbage bag full of his belongings. I emptied my pockets into his hands and told him I was sorry I couldn't do more for him. He thanked me, and called me an angel. And I walked back to the office thinking about all the people I know who have so much more money to give than I could ever dream of, but would have walked past that man without seeing him.

In the elevator back up to the office I almost cried while thinking, "I know what it's like to live so close to death you become invisible."

22:54 - 13 August 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

stranger in a strange land - 13 July 2012
june - 26 June 2009
soft, clear, metallic tone - 15 March 2009
right - 12 March 2009
... <3 - 22 February 2009

others:

gallinula
mymetrocard
n-passant
be-u-tea
thisredhouse
exitfish
fellbehind
Ineednoname
andthisair
npass
lightfallsup
novembre
katherinhand
sythy
thejanechord
donnaisblue
pitter-pat