Cut and Paste, Start Again

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tuesday

Parents aren't supposed to outlive their children.

And so my father restates his argument every chance he gets � that we are morally obliged to keep people alive long after their bodies or souls give up hope. That there is no one amongst us who is beyond repair. He makes this argument with the same sense of urgency you might find in the parent of a cancer patient about to start another round of chemo...
But I am not lying in a hospital bed. I am sitting across from him at my kitchen table, refusing to take pity and concede to his optimism.

In my father's eyes all of my emotional screwiness is a side effect of hunger and malnutrition. He calls every sunday to check on me, and if I can't muster up an acceptable degree of chipperness in my voice he's over in a flash with a bag of vegetables, whole grains, and odd smelling spices. He uses up all of the pots and pans in my kitchen, all the while rambling on about native americans and proteins.... amino acids, alcohol, white bread and depression...

And when he's done he watches to make sure everything gets eaten, and starts in on me again with this tired argument about having hope for the hopeless. Because parents aren't supposed to outlive their children. And he can't stand to see me when I'm like this. So damn lifeless.

23:48 - 13 November 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

stranger in a strange land - 13 July 2012
june - 26 June 2009
soft, clear, metallic tone - 15 March 2009
right - 12 March 2009
... <3 - 22 February 2009

others:

gallinula
mymetrocard
n-passant
be-u-tea
thisredhouse
exitfish
fellbehind
Ineednoname
andthisair
npass
lightfallsup
novembre
katherinhand
sythy
thejanechord
donnaisblue
pitter-pat