Cut and Paste, Start Again

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what is it?

Athazagoraphobia: The fear of forgetting or being forgotten.

And it's funny you should ask because I was just thinking about it on my walk home. When my grandfather passed away a few years ago and I was cleaning his home out I found a trunk of all of my grandmother's photographs, literally her whole life in pictures. Almost every photograph (and there are thousands, it's a big trunk) has written on the back: the date, the names of anyone in the photograph, and a few notes about what happened the day that the photo was taken. Now, you might think that I mean something like, "April 30th, 1962, Nancy and Donna, Nancy's 3rd birthday."

But no, there are photographs of things like a gas station and when you flip it over it says, "June 4th, 1975, Arizona, gas station where Phil bought 2 bottles of water and a pack of tic-tacs, asked for directions."

I'm not like that with photos, but I'm like that with words. I archive all of my written communication, even angry letters that I'd rather not remember at all. And I take notes on conversations I've had so that I'll be able to remember what people said to me later, much later, so much later that's it's completely irrelevant who said what but it still matters to me if I can't remember.

David always makes fun of me because I have well organized records of every word we've ever said to each other, and I can pull them up within moments if I can remember one or two key words. He thinks it's some kind of conspiracy against him, that I'm just waiting for the opportunity to use them against him (paranoid much). But really, I'm just scared of forgetting it. I don't like the way time erases things from the memory. So I keep records to remember everything I can afford to remember.

22:56 - 03 December 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

stranger in a strange land - 13 July 2012
june - 26 June 2009
soft, clear, metallic tone - 15 March 2009
right - 12 March 2009
... <3 - 22 February 2009

others:

gallinula
mymetrocard
n-passant
be-u-tea
thisredhouse
exitfish
fellbehind
Ineednoname
andthisair
npass
lightfallsup
novembre
katherinhand
sythy
thejanechord
donnaisblue
pitter-pat